IPL 2020 Qualifier 2, Delhi VS Hyderabad : Match Preview & Playing XI Prediction

Delhi Capitals will square off against Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 2 of IPL 2020. Delhi Capitals lost Qualifier 1 against Mumbai Indians by 57 runs while Sunrisers Hyderabad registered their fourth consecutive win and qualified for this stage by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore  by six wickets with two balls to spare in the Eliminator. The winner of Qualifier 2 will take on Mumbai Indians in the final.

Delhi Capitals got off to a flying start to the tournament and looked to be on course for the most part before stuttering at the end of the league stage. They managed to just grab the second spot on the ladder by winning the last league match against Royal Challengers Bangalore, but then again looked completely out of sorts against Mumbai Indians. As apparent from their recent record, the Capitals are undoubtedly far from their best. The Capitals have won just five matches out of their last six and have a lot of standing questions. Their opening pair hasn’t scored runs for ages now as Prithvi Shaw never really seems settled in the middle. While Shikhar Dhawan has scored heaps of runs, he has been a bit too inconsistent in the last few matches. The Capitals will take heart from the way Ajinkya Rahane performed against RCB, but overall the Capitals’ top-order needs a major overhaul.

Delhi’s batting may look out of sorts given their recent performances, their bowling still seems to be pretty lethal. Kagiso Rabada may have failed in a couple of recent matches, but he is more than capable to turn around the match on its head. Besides, Rabada’s performance in the tournament, on the whole, has been top-notch. With Anrich Nortje doing well too, Delhi’s pace attack looks sorted. Even with Ashwin’s availability under the clouds, Delhi seem well equipped with spinners. All in all, Delhi Capitals have a lot of work to do before they get out to challenge Sunrisers Hyderabad. There are apparent issues with their batting lineup and if they can resolve those, Delhi certainly have a bowling attack that can win them matches.

Sunrisers Hyderabad found their perfect eleven a bit late, but they’d take in given the form they’ve been in of late. Exactly opposite to Delhi Capitals, the Sunrisers Hyderabad are coming off four back to back wins and will be brimming with confidence. They defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in the eliminator and will be looking to get an entry into the finale by winning the upcoming contest as well. Ever since getting their combination right, only in the last match did Sunrisers Hyderabad appear to be a little vulnerable with the bat as Wridhimann Saha had to sit out of the last match. Unless he is unfit, they expect Saha to jump back into the playing eleven.

Also, the inclusion of Jason Holder has added much-needed depth to the Sunrisers Hyderbad’s batting order that earlier seemed to be wafer-thin after Kane Williamson. With David Warner, Manish Pandey, and Kane Williamson among the top-order, Sunrisers’ batting looks settled. Furthermore, they have good fire-power available in the lower-middle order should it get to that. The things that have been working for the Sunrisers is that they have five full-time bowlers available who all can bowl in tight channels. Hitting Rashid Khan has proved to be almost impossible in the tournament thus far and is likely to be the case in the upcoming match as well. With Natarajan bowling yorkers with excellent accuracy at the death and Holder available to hold the other hand, the Sunrisers have a bowling attack that can keep even the best of batting units down to manageable totals.

Possible playing XI of Delhi Capitals :
Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Sams, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Delhi Capitals squad :
Shreyas Iyer (c), Kagiso Rabada, Marcus Stoinis, Sandeep Lamichhane, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Shimron Hetmyer, Alex Carey, Mohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Lalit Yadav, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Tushar Deshpande, Rishabh Pant, Harshal Patel, Keemo Paul, Anrich Nortje, Daniel Sams, Praveen Dubey.

Possible playing XI of Sunrisers Hyderabad :
David Warner (C), Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Vijay Shankar, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan.

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad :
Kane Williamson, David Warner (c), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Virat Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Basil Thampi, Abhishek Sharma, Billy Stanlake, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, K Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan, Mitchell Marsh, Bavanaka Sandeep, Fabian Allen, Abdul Samad, Sanjay Yadav, Rashid Khan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *